diy solar

diy solar

Mother's Batteries are Kaput

My Mom called because here batteries are kaput. I have not personally checked them and I am ~5 hours drive away.

She asked me to look for replacement batteries. I am looking for advice and suggestions.

I am a complete novice, and don't plan to be the one putting in the replacements.

She currently has 8 6v Deep Cycle batteries. They look like Golf Cart batteries to me. The person helping her today is not an electrician thinks they are wired in two banks of 24v. There is a electrician familiar with solar who comes around and does work in the area, but if he is the only one coming out to you it is $250 travel, and he has been supposed to come look at it when in the area for a while now. When I look at the picture they sent and trace the wires I am not sure they aren't wired together as 48v. The MPPT appears to support both 24v and 48v systems and could support LifePO4 batteries if I read its manual right.

She is running lights, StarLink, TV, smartphone, and refrigerator. Everything else is propane - hot water, stove, and heat. She has a backup generator as well.

My thoughts -

• Replace as like for like as possible - looking at about $2000 from what I have seen. If I recall correctly you aren't really supposed to bring these deep cycles below 50% so of the 10,800 wh she only has 5400 wh usable
  • If 24v replace with 1 or 2 24v LifePO4 200AH battery either rack mount or like the current ones but raise them off the ground $1500-2000
  • If 48v replace with 1 or 2 48v LifePO4 100AH $1500-2000
  • Replace the whole setup with an all-in-one inverter/charge controller/etc and new LifePO4 batteries.

Here are some images:

1708648299665.jpeg

1708648331027.jpeg
1708648346016.jpeg

The is definitely set up 4S2P, I wish the pic was good enough to read the label, but since each battery has 3 caps, I agree they're 6 volts, for two 24 volt batteries.