diy solar

diy solar

Need off grid power for my barn

rtshinn

Newbie here!
The background:
My friend in Florida had his solar panels taken down to put on a new roof. The installers slow-walked reinstalling the panels (they had agreed to do it). In the meantime he sold the house, and I ended up buying his whole system, hardware and all for $2000. He brought it all up to my place in Ohio when coming up for a visit. I had little time to do much research. The system was installed in 2017 for ~ $17,000

The equipment:

14 Hanwha Q-cell panels (tied in 2 strings in series at the Florida locale): 290w - 39.2/31.96 open/max volts - 9.63 amps
1 Sunny Boy 3.8-US Grid Tied Inverter: Max 600v input
https://d3g1qce46u5dao.cloudfront.net/data_sheet/proof_sbxx_us_ds_en_30.pdf
1 Iron Ridge railing & mounting hardware for system
1 Electrical boxes, switches, wire, conduit, & breaker (for main?)

I ALSO HAVE:
Allpowers R4000 'Solar Generator Battery' 3600w (6000 peak). Charging Accepts 150vdc 2kw solar, and 120VAC 2kw etc. concurrently as well as EV stations charging, etc. Supposedly can be connected with up to 5 more R4000's for more capacity (I don't think I can use that to get 240v though)
https://iallpowers.com/products/allpowers-r4000-power-station

My installation needs:
Off Grid power for my Barn (it's about 600 ft from the house, no other power anywhere nearby)
120v would be fine, 240v would be better, of course
I have partial and variable sun on a heavily wooded lot, though I will be having some trees harvested soon. I probably get full sun for maybe 3-4 hours a day at this point. Of course, it's Ohio, so....
I'll use the electricity for lighting and regular power tools, not heating. All on an intermittent basis. Don't really need 240v at this point

What are my best cost-effective and practical options, in your viewpoint?

Last edited:
Great you've got your hands on some panels and racking , it's a good start..