diy solar

diy solar

New 280K cells not pulling full capacity

dimsi

Hey all, newbie here. Purchased my first 8 EVE LF280K cells from US stock a few weeks back and they aren't pulling full capacity. Seller says that is normal for 2022 stock.

I patiently did a top balance and a capacity test from 3.65 to 2.5v. Got about 268ah with a load of .5C. I've now also tested some of the cells individually at less then 0.1C load and I'm yielding 272-273ah. The seller claims EVE cells produced in 2022 are all 270-280ah, and that's expected.

I thought the cells being new have to pull at least 280 the first tests., so I'm not sure how to feel about this. Am I getting some leftovers from a warehouse sold as new, or is this the same across the board?

Checked the cell manufacture dates, they range from Dec '21 to Jan '22.

Paid $149 per cell, shipping included - directly from Docan's website. They are the older type with welded studs.

Hook them up and use them. They are too heavy and expensive to ship. I have two out of 10ea 16S 280aH batteries that I'm not that proud of, paid more or as much for them?. I just don't charge them above 55.4V. I don't think you're gonna get full capacity out of any of these at a .5 C. My batteries rarely see more than 40 A in or out, let alone 140A. if so, you need more batteries/BMS for longer life/redundancy.

How are you getting a 0.5 C(A) load? There are a lot of opportunities for measurement error with that amount of current.

If you are using a sinewave inverter to load battery the current profile is a near sinewave at twice the inverter AC frequency. The peak current of the sinewave current profile will be about twice the average DC current and minimum of sinewave current profile will be close to zero current. The average will be DC current reading. The high peak current will create more losses in battery resulting in a lower net AH capacity, typically about 2% to 3% less with a 0.5 C(A) average current load.