diy solar

diy solar

New to solar panels and such..need help

emendoz1

Hello, I am new to the\e solar world but managed to get one solar panel working with a 12/24v regulator and inverter to work well with a one bulb lamp for my shed. The problem I'm having is today I purchased 2 used Renogy 100w panels and can't get them to work with my regulator. I tested the panels with my multimeter and they both are producing power close to the max but when I connect them individually or together to the regulator there is no evidence of power, only the 12.4 off connected battery. Is there a trick to testing the panels or have I done so correctly and just bought faulty panels?

Any advice would be great.

Thanks

Welcome to the DIY Solar Forum @emendoz1
It would be good to know more about your Solar Charge Controller ("regulator") brand and model number.
Things to check - did you connect the two panels together in series or parallel - do the voltages add or remain the same with two panels connected?
Did you confirm the polarity - the solar panels will produce DC pos on one cable and neg on the other, if you connect them backwards by mistake to the solar charge controller you will not produce any power from them.
The following sentence made me wonder if you now have three solar panels total or just two, and if three are they all the same type and wattage?
I am new to the\e solar world but managed to get one solar panel working with a 12/24v regulator and inverter to work well with a one bulb lamp for my shed. The problem I'm having is today I purchased 2 used Renogy 100w panels and can't get them to work with my regulator.
If you can confirm and post a picture of the specs from the back of the panels, may help us to know the problem.