diy solar

diy solar

Newb looking for advice on portable system to charge cordless tool batteries

autobon7

Complete newby here.......probably more "green" than anyone on this forum. Have often referred to myself as an electrical dummy. Never-the-less I am seeking direction on a solar project. Am purchasing a VERY rural piece of ground that has no utilities. I plan on working clearing brush, removing some trees, building a small shelter, etc and will be using lots of cordless tools and will need to recharge often. Don't want a gas generator and not convinced about the performance and reliability of the Jackery type portable power station units. What is the best route for this electrical dummy that does not break the bank?

Start with the DIY checklist in my signature.

One of the first steps is to define your energy requirements. Once you've done that, you'll be able to size your components accordingly.

In your case, google your brand & flavor of battery tool and see if they make a 12v car charger for that tool. Many of the 12/18/20v tools will have car chargers which is a really, really easy system to build. If you're using the 40v tool range then car chargers are pretty rare and you'll have to make a more complex system probably involving inverters and the like.

Welcome to the party autobon7.

In your case, google your brand & flavor of battery tool and see if they make a 12v car charger for that tool. Many of the 12/18/20v tools will have car chargers which is a really, really easy system to build. If you're using the 40v tool range then car chargers are pretty rare and you'll have to make a more complex system probably involving inverters and the like.
Yep, what Rednecktek said.

We are assuming you have an automobile of some sort. Just add a solar panel or two, wires, charge controller and a fuse or breaker.

Will check out the chargers tonight (at work now :) but I use Bosch 18v, Milwaukee 18v, Milwaukee 12v, and Kobalt 24v

Welcome to the party autobon7.