diy solar

diy solar

Newbie building an off grid home with 15000w of panels 250 feet away.

jumbo John car

I am new with just enough knowledge to be dangerous. I am building an offgrid home. I have 15kw of solar panels 2 eg4 6500 inverters. The 18 kw came out right after I bought them.
Any way the panels need to be about 250 feet from the house. Myquestion is what is the best way to go about this. Should I build building by the panels with batteries and inverters there and run wire from there to my fuse box? Or run wire from panels down to inverters by the house.
Thanks in advance for any helpful advice

Whichever of the DC or AC has the highest voltage is best to do the heavy lifting on the long distance.

I am new with just enough knowledge to be dangerous. I am building an offgrid home. I have 15kw of solar panels 2 eg4 6500 inverters. The 18 kw came out right after I bought them.
Any way the panels need to be about 250 feet from the house. Myquestion is what is the best way to go about this. Should I build building by the panels with batteries and inverters there and run wire from there to my fuse box? Or run wire from panels down to inverters by the house.
Thanks in advance for any helpful advice
As a general rule, the most economical solution is to have the highest voltage run the longest distance. In this case that's going to be your PV, which can run up to 500 Vdc. Also, transmission losses for PV aren't as big of a deal as they are for your usable ac power. You would want to limit ac losses to 3% or less, and so you may need some big wires if you were to locate the inverters at the array. But with the PV running the long distance, you don't need to limit losses to 3%: any losses are... just losses. They don't mess up sensitive electronics or harm electric motors, or do any of the other things that ac voltage drop does.
I would locate the inverters and batteries at the house.

Last edited:
Panels can be wherever they can produce the most.