diy solar

diy solar

Newbie fuse question

Mikey126

Hi
I am new to solar and DIY builds, I live in Australia so plenty of sun, I am very interested in building the 400watt system on will's video, or something bigger if possible, not an expert on amps and watts, would like some advice on breakers between, dc fuse box and the inverter also between the inverter and the mppt controller, I have purchased this invert and controller below.

and

so my question is what amp circuit breaker would I need between these two devices, also would 4 gauge wire be ok to use with this setup and 6 gauge from the controller?

Thanks in advance, for any advice
Mike

The wire gauge question depends on how far apart the equipment is from the batteries. For the inverter it sounds undersized but 6 gauge is probably plenty for the solar controller. As far as the fuse block, that's a big unknown.

As far as fuse sizes, I would figure it this way:

2000 watts at 12 volts is 166 amps. Give yourself 10% headroom for surges, you now have 183 amps. Closest fuse to that size is 200 amps. I do not recommend a breaker because most that you will find online are cheap and don't actually trip at their rated current, instead much lower.

For the MPPT controller, it's rated at 50 amps, and will limit its output current to 50 amps. Technically by NEC requirements you can use a 50 amp fuse, but I prefer a little bit of headroom to prevent nuisance blown fuses/tripped breaker and would go with 60 amps, if available, but no bigger.

For your fuse box, whatever the fuse box is rated for is what I would fuse it at. E.g. 50 amp fuse block gets a 50 amp fuse.

I'm assuming you are connecting the inverter to the fuse, and then the fuse directly to the battery, that is.

That inverter looks super expensive for its specs.....