diy solar

diy solar

Newbie trying to figure how power is pulled from the system batteries only or controller/inverter

h2ocean

hello all I will ask the question first and them babble about my thoughts on design.
I can find tons of info on putting PV power into the batteries and inverters but if my batteries are fully charged and the panels are producing does the inverter still take its power from the batteries or does the charge controller pass the excess power to the inverter. I am sure this will probably not be a simple answer and i do not have any equipment yet since i want an answer before i buy the wrong thing.

Now for the babblings, This all started with the batteries, I am a maintenance tech and replaced the batteries in 2 scissor lifts only to have management scrap one of them 2 weeks later. they are rated in Amp hours @ time and the calculation tells me i can pull 15 amps for 20 hours from each of the 6 batteries so they would easily rum my fridge and freezers for a week with no problem. they are wired 36V in the lift and i have the charger for the 36V system so i would like to keep them that way but i would need 48V panels and the used panels I can find are 24 r 36 volt so i will probably end up series/parallel wiring them into 3 12V strings unless i buy 2 more $1000,00 i don't want to spend and have 24V system.

Panel wise i am looking at about 940-1200 watt depending on if i get 260 or 325 panels.

thanks for any knowledge you can offer, my main confusion is am i going to be making extra power that will not be used until the battery levels drop which from the calculations will be days with the small load on the battery bank