diy solar

diy solar

Off Grid - What happens when power is not sufficient?

JToby

Hi,

As you can tell, I am very new to Solar, but want to get a setup going this coming year 2024. I am working through all the scenarios for grid tied \ off grid, etc. One question that I have is what happens if your solar off grid setup runs low in power? Will the inverter have enough tech to shut down the flow of power so that it does not damage the components (fridge \ water pump) etc? (brown outs). As I do not have an Inverter, this is why the question. A few items:

* Does the Inverter (All in one) shut the flow of power off if not enough power to prevent brown out's?
* How is this accomplished? Is it a set safety limit inside the controller itself?
* Is this something that would be different from one manufacturer to another? Or do they all work in the same manner, is it a standard for all?
* Is this something that the home owner would set? If it is not a set limit on the controller?
* What about surge requirements? What happens if a surge of power is required? Like a compressor or water pump initial start? What happens if it wants to draw too much then available?

Thanks for this, great appreciated.

Yes - Newbie.. But will learn as needed.

Great forum..

they usually have low voltage shut down around 10/20/40v

You should choose an inverter capable of supplying the surge required for your load (eg. 5-7x the continuous rating).

I have a 6000w/12000w inverter and it starts a 2.5hp (1800w) belt driven air compressor and runs my welders and pretty much anything I plug into it. My only regret is that I don't have two of them.

Last edited:
people that have a fully off grid system, meaning no grid connection avbl at all, will have a generator to power loads and charge batteries when solar is not enough.

most of what we all call off grid systems are actually more accurately called a grid assist system.