diy solar

diy solar

Off grid system upgrade

offgrid-curious

I have recently acquired a small off-grid 3 season cottage/cabin. The cottage has a rudimentary solar set up that was installed by the previous owner that I’m looking to upgrade. The property has a few constraints (lots of trees, no direct south facing mount point) that are making the design of a new system challenging. I’m new to solar, and I’ve been poring over the material on this forum (thanks so much to all!) and everywhere else over the past few weeks to try to come up with an optimal solution.

We will be using the cottage maybe a few times a month for 2-3 days at a time from April-November. I’ve estimated that conservatively we’ll use approximately 4kWh/day when we’re there. When we’re not there, there are minimal power requirements - propane powers a fireplace, fridge, stove, lights. The current system is 12v, and the cottage uses 12v for the lake pump, some lights and water filter. Other than the fridge, everything else is off when away.

The property has a significant number of trees (that I don't want to cut down) that make the array placement challenging. Many people in the area have pole mounted set ups, but even with a 20’ pole, I believe there is too much shade/trees to justify the cost. The roof is not perfect - it faces roughly east/west, but I believe is the best mounting location I have available. My plan is to try to over panel to try to harvest as much power as I can, when I can.

CleanShot 2023-10-20 at 12.26.09.png