diy solar

diy solar

Off-Grid System: Check my work

dp09

This is my first time posting to this forum but I’ve used it several times as a resource. I want to make sure I have this system planned out correctly before I purchase all of the equipment. I have never installed a solar system of this size before and I’m going to try my best to include all of the necessary information in this post. Any help is appreciated.

I'm in the process of building an off-grid home and over the next two months (Dec-Jan 2024) I will be ordering all of the components and putting together this system (I currently own the 250W panels). The house construction finishes in mid spring (2024) so I need to have the system completed by then and ready for county inspection.

I am responsible for wiring up the solar equipment and a licensed electrician will be handling running the AC power from the inverter to the main panel, an AC disconnect, and wiring up receptacles, lights, etc.

Site: Northern Midwest

System type: Full off-grid solar power

Mount: Galvanized steel ground mount

Distance: PV array is roughly 150’ from house

Inverter/Bat Location: Inverter and battery are located inside the house

Backup Power Source: WEN 11kW Dual Fuel Generator

Inspections: local county inspection

Equipment:

EG4 18kPV w/2x PowerPro 14.3kWh batteries

Watts247 4-2 combiner box

•18 used 240W SanTan panels

•24 new 365W Hyundai panels

•10AWG direct burial cable

Panels (I’m going to gloss over the series-parallel connections because I don’t have concern about this portion of the build):

Used 240W: VOC 37.2

New 365W: VOC 40.8

The panels will be wired up in series into 4 strings. Two strings consisting of 240W panels and two consisting of 365W panels. That will run into the combiner box to parallel those two like strings together.

Combiner box output will have two strings at about 350VDV (240W panels) and about 500VDC (365W panels).

Direct Burial Wire: (I have no plans to run conduit).