diy solar

diy solar

One cell voltage spike

msgn

Hello,

This is my first attempt in building a brand new 8-cells 24v system (150Ah). 8 cells in series.

Before attaching them to the charge controller/inverter/bms, I kept them in paralles for 6-7 days, then applied a 10A current from power supply, going from the first cell positive to the last cell negative terminal. When they arrived at home they were all well balanced already at 3.32v but I wanted to do everything right.

Yesterday we had a very sunny day here in central Italy and my small PV array produced 25-30 amps. The cells started to charge, but Cell-1 quickly spiked over 3.50, then 3.65 and then 3.69 when my BMS decided to wisely cut the current. Trying to use the pack with a moderate load (500-600 watt), no unbalancing occurred. Everything set back to a very balanced pack. But today it was sunny again and Cell-1 did the same as yesterday.

I tried swapping Cell-1 with Cell-2 in my series and the result is: it's always the same cell to be unbalanced. This excludes errors in BMS connection of terminals, etc. It looks like Cell-1 could be defective or very unbalanced.

What do you think it could be the problem? Is there anything I can do to make Cell-1 behave like the other perfectly balanced cells?

Thank you!

chrisski said:
What is 3.45? 95%?

I recently had a cell drift out of balance. Not a lot of difference voltage wise when settled. Could be as little as .005 volts. When charging and nearing 100%, would get .2 volts difference. In between there were differences all over the board. I suspected a loose connection, and sure enough it was.

I was expecting to top balance again, but after sitting 5 days on the Overkill BMS set to balance all the time when above 3.4, balance amperage unknown, appears within .015 again. I will do some stress testing this weekend to see how that goes.

Not easy to top balance a pack once assembled, but if I need to I can take the bus bars off and put a power supply.