diy solar

Panel layout / configuration

JoshVannette

Good afternoon newbie here!

Looking for design input for my 48v solar system
  1. 2x Growatt 5000es from signiture solar
  2. Auto transformer to provide neutral for 120 loads
  3. 2x EG4 batteries ( I'll add more as time allows
  4. 48 x 250watt solar panels Model SS250P-60 specifications attached via image.
Wondering what the recommended panel layout is for 2 arrays feeding the growatt controllers. Max 450 VDC and up to 6000watt PV input I have plenty of roof space on south facing roof in South Carolina for both arrays.

Appreciate the input in advance

Attachments

• PXL_20220603_165634932.jpg
    PXL_20220603_165634932.jpg
    70.9 KB · Views: 16
This math is fun, been doin it for a few days trying to find best bang for buck LOL

30.3 is volt number and 8.27 is your amp number, with max 450v so to start we divide 245 by 30.3 to find max # of panels we can put in series

The answer is 8 but that gives us a voltage very close to max, at 242.4 and because things fluctuate a bit with temp changes a series string of 7 is your best starting point 0f 212.1

Each parallel connection adds the amps together so 2 strings is 16.54 amps and 3 strings is 24.81 amps NOTE adding any more than this requires bigger wire than standard, with the standard being 10 gauge wire which is rated to carry 30 amps

With 3 strings of 7 the wattage will be (volts x amps) 5262.2, you can NOT do 4 strings as that would be 7016 watts which puts you over your max (6000)

So 2 array's of 7s3p to be safe, but you do have enough to do 8, if it doesn't get cold (below 0) where you live you could do 8s3p which would be 6013.9 watts

I wouldn't but others might chime in differently

Good afternoon newbie here!

Looking for design input for my 48v solar system
  1. 2x Growatt 5000es from signiture solar
  2. Auto transformer to provide neutral for 120 loads
  3. 2x EG4 batteries ( I'll add more as time allows