diy solar

diy solar

Portable Battery Generator for KTM Freeride EX-C Dirt Bike

mjfav

Hello everyone!

Total noob here looking for some guidance. Here’s my shot at brevity with specs, context, and use cases.

Use Case: Charge my electric dirtbike on multi-day trips…as well as my drone batteries.

I can buy 2 Ecoflow Delta Pros ($7500) and daisy chain them together with their 240 adapter and accomplish what I’m after (I think) but I am interested in a cheaper DIY option.

Bike Battery Specs:
Rated voltage: 259.2 V
Rated energy: 3.888 kWh
Rated capacity: 15 Ah
Max. charging current: 10A

Bike Battery Charger Specs:
AC INPUT: 220-240V ~, 50/60Hz, 13A Max.
DC HV OUTPUT: 180 - 302.4V ==-, 10.0A Max.
DC LV OUTPUT: 14.5V ==-, 4.0A Max.

Charger plug: it came with a male L6-20. I purchased a NEMA 14-30P Male to L6-20R Female, 20A, 250V adapter so I could plug it into my dryer outlet to charge my bike at home. Thanks to these guys here! chargethebike.com

Potential set up…

Solar Inverter:
EG4 6000EX-48HV 6000W Output 7500W PV Input Split 500V VOC Input Split Phase 120/240VAC
Battery: EG4 LifePower4 Lithium Battery 48v 100AH Server Rack Battery 5.12kWh
Portable Solar Panels: Could use help here
Cables: Also some help here
Outlets: (I’m not looking to use 120 and 240 at the same time)
1 to charge bike
2 regular 3 prong wall outlet (1 for drone, 1 for misc)
2 usb-c for general glamping

Maybe there is something else I need?

My thinking is after I recharge my bike once, that will leave me with 1.24kWh hours in the EG4 Battery. Then I will solar charge on day 2 back up to at least 3.9kWh so that I can recharge my bike again in order to get 2 full recharges on 3 day trips. (Rinse and repeat for longer trips).

Although the bike is 100% the priority, I figured if I’m building this I might as well aim for something multipurpose to charge my drone and other misc items.