diy solar

diy solar

PV->hot water

I installed a PV diverter for our water heater last year so that we use our grid-tied solar PV instead of importing from the grid. Works well. Heat pump water heaters suitable for our home were too expensive for us, our hot water energy consumption (~5 kWh/day) isn't high enough to justify one.

Screen Shot 2023-09-23 at 8.19.19 am.png

@Stewfish Sorry, I'm not good at doing things wrong. Plenty of others here are good at that. The trouble with direct connect is that it performs worst when you need it most. Yesterday it was cloudy and rain and I was still able to do a dishwasher load and my wife dye her hair.

I haven't provided a water heater board to anyone in two years. But you may be in luck. I'm thinking of having a contest in about two months when I get some time. The winner will get a FREE water heater board set up for their system, whether stand alone or operating in parallel with a MPPT controller to harvest excess power. Selected individual will have to meet certain requirements.

A PV diverter does not have to be expensive or too awful complicated. I have a system that is usually operating off-grid, with AC-coupled solar, and controls to turn on dump loads or charge batteries when solar is available. I used a very cheap dimmer control, modulating the 240vAC to the water heater element. It has a noisy and poor power factor, but aside from me noticing the different humming noises, it works just fine. https://www.amazon.com/10000W-Voltage-Regulator-Controller-Thermostat/dp/B085W43M7B It claims to handle 10kw, eh ok, maybe, but my water heater element is only 3.8kw, so it does handle that fine.