diy solar

diy solar

Question about hooking battery cables to distribution panel/AIO

TMariano

I understand how to wire everything for both pieces of equipment aside for one thing; do I need to have direct battery connections to panel AND hybrid inverter seperately? Or would you wire the battery through panel and feed to AIO from there?

A bit ashamed to ask as i'm sure this is a total noobie question but I was unable to find clarity on this in the manuals or any videos regarding either piece of equipment. For anyone curious I have both linked below, haven't bought them yet. I'm open to suggestions for better products in similar price ranges as well, no real budget set but trying to save what I can. TIA!

AIO - https://powmr.com/products/all-in-one-inverter-charger-1600watt-220vac-12vdc

Distribution Panel - https://www.amazon.com/Arterra-WF-8...c096ef71533c36b6fb6adc311e146a&language=en_US

You're talking about the DC side, right? You'd go Battery -> AIO for that. The AIO just becomes another 12v load on the battery. Your distribution panel isn't going to be able to handle the 150-ish amp load if you max that thing out.

Last edited:
Yes! 220v is European power, you'll fry anything from North America plugging it into that. An autotransformer or a honking huge step-down transformer is what you're going to need. to get 110v out of that thing. You don't have to use an autotransformer to split it into 110-0-110 split phase if you don't need the 220v for anything (and 1600w isn't that much to work with), so to just step it down you can get a cheaper step-down transformer in the 2Kw range.

Sadly, 110v AIO's that run on 12v pretty much top out at 1Kw. :cautious:

Good catch Justoneguy!

Last edited:
You're talking about the DC side, right? You'd go Battery -> AIO for that. The AIO just becomes another 12v load on the battery. Your distribution panel isn't going to be able to handle the 150-ish amp load if you max that thing out.
Yes thank you, duly noted!