diy solar

diy solar

question about wiring panels in series

Dave S

I am new to solar. If I had 2-300 watt/12 volt solar panels, and I wired them in series...Would I would obtain 600 watts/ 24 volts? ...would the resulting amperage be 25 amps? a=600w/24V...and if I then wanted to run a Straight DC system, no inverter, would I be able to expect the 2 panels would produce 600 watts and 25 amps of power for DC devices? Say I had lights and fans, all DC, all 24v rated power, and those devices all together added up to 500 watts, could those 2 panels produce the power to drive those devices? If not help me to understand my incorrect thinking and explain the math. Thank you.

Watts are watts, independent of the voltage (mostly). That is, two 300W panels put together either in parallel or series gives you 600W. Of course, that is the nameplate rating (STC - Standard Test Conditions), which is not what you will see in real life.

Each 300W panel can produce 25A at 12V
It'll be 25A at 24V when in series. 25*24=600W
That's assuming your loads use all available power. If you have a 24W load, it'll just draw 1A. etc.
Sub optimal sunlight & orientation gives you less.

Say I had lights and fans, all DC, all 24v rated power, and those devices all together added up to 500 watts, could those 2 panels produce the power to drive those devices? If not help me to understand my incorrect thinking and explain the math. Thank you.
You’d want a battery as a buffer to keep them running when the clouds go overhead.

Also, you’d want a charge controller to keep the voltage constant, which the charge controller will require a battery.

The other reason you’d want a battery is those panels will require assistance to meet that wattage except for a cloudless day around noon. Other than those couple of hours, you’ll fall short of your 400 watts.

Are these theoretical panels? Or do you have a spec sheet? I've never heard of a panel outputting 25 amps.