diy solar

diy solar

Renogy 400 watt solar kit with 40 Amp controller

Maritimer

I am very new to this
I want to try a small system so I am buying renogy 400 watt kit with 40 Amp MPPT controller.

Renogy 400 Watt 12 Volt Monocrystalline Solar Starter Kit with 40A Rover MPPT Charge Controller https://a.co/d/9lVzeOU

I have shading so I'll be going parallel with the panels. The specs say it can handle 520 watts of solar. Can I just add an extra 100 watt panel in parallel with the others?
I will be going 12v

Welcome to the forum!

If you haven’t bought the kit yet, I recommend you do not. They are selling $300-$350 worth of equipment to you for $700. (Edit: saw you're in Canada so my $ comparison is moot) This community can help provide lower cost options if you are interested.

Yes, you *could* run 5 in parallel, but I would recommend perhaps getting two more panels and running three parallel strings of two panels each in series. Don't worry that 600W > 520W that the controller says is max. You won't get nearly 100% out of your panels in most conditions especially since you said you are concerned about shading.

There are lower cost and better quality options than this kit, so if you're interested people here can help suggest some. In that case, it would be helpful if you could provide some more details on what this system is intended for.

Last edited:
I didn't know I could exceed the wattage
I have trees on the left and right so only for a short time I'd have direct sun overhead and being east coast Canada probably doesn't help either.
New to this so just looked on Amazon but I'd love to know other options as well
Thank you very much for your advice

Hi Maritimer,
Good idea. It's great to learn on a smaller system. My first two systems were a harbor freight 45 watt setup, then a renogy 400 watt setup that I eventually upgraded to 800 watts.