diy solar

diy solar

RV 24 volt system with 24 volt alternator …

auTTiMan

I’m a newb and this is my first thread, so…..go easy on me…

I have a Winnebago View that has the T1N Sprinter engine. It’s my understanding that it can be modified to fit an additional alternator/generator. I’m interested in adding a 24 volt alternator so I could charge a 24 volt battery powering a solar inverter/system.

I don’t have a system installed yet and only considering 24 volt for this reason. If this is not a good idea, I’ll probably go with a 48 volt generator type system but really interested in charging from the vehicle’s engine.

TIA

Im assuming this battery came with the vehicle. I’m unfamiliar with the battery voltage. Is it a 24 volt battery?

If this is a new battery you want to add, to charge from the alternator, it’s easiest to stick with the same voltage.

You could add another alternator for 24 volts. My truck would be fairly simple. As an option, a second alternator can be added so the truck already has a place to mount it and a longer belt I can buy. I would not want to do a second alternator install on a vehicle that did not come from the factory as an option.

You may get a good response from a Winnebago forum.

The 24v alternator is the hard part to get the belt, pullies etc that are needed. Once you locate a kit or an installer the rest will slide into place.

Many RVs out there do just fine at 12v and use the existing alternator to provide some charge of maybe 20 amps. Can connect plenty of solar and at least 2000w inverter to a 12v battery.

Im assuming this battery came with the vehicle. I’m unfamiliar with the battery voltage. Is it a 24 volt battery?

If this is a new battery you want to add, to charge from the alternator, it’s easiest to stick with the same voltage.