diy solar

diy solar

SMA - Sunny Island

Eran

HI,

I have an SMA Sunny Island 8.0H, 48V system, I am have few questions about the type of batteries I need to use.
I would be thankful if some one to guide me though these questions.

1. Do I need to use pre build batteries? like ABB or SMA storage?
2. Can I create my own battery bank with LifePO4 or can I buy cells an make my own LI battery bank?
3.I have heard that SMA's are pretty sensitive and does this sensitivity mean I need to use recommended Li batteries?

Thank you in advance.

If you use a BMS that has compatible Canbus communication with the Sunny Island you can use any cells you like.

I have been using the REC BMS for many years with a DIY LiFePO4 pack.

Thank you very much Toms, How do I figure out the compatibility of the CAN Bus of the BMS, I am thinking of using a grid tie sunny boy inverter as well on to this.

Because I am not in the US and and I am trying to figure out if I can find a compatible BMS.

Thank you very much

Thank you very much Toms, How do I figure out the compatibility of the CAN Bus of the BMS, I am thinking of using a grid tie sunny boy inverter as well on to this.

Because I am not in the US and and I am trying to figure out if I can find a compatible BMS.

Thank you very much

Speak directly to the BMS manufacturer - i have personally setup REC BMS / Batrium / ZEVA BMS with the Sunny Island.

From my experience the REC is the best choice. You should be able to source one in your country - i am in Australia and they are made in Slovenia.

I, too, have a Sunny Island with a battery bank. I chose to build my battery bank with eight Weize 12V 100 Ah deep cycle AGM batteries for $1800. The 48V battery bank is made up of two parallel groups of four batteries connected in series for 9.6 kWh of emergency backup storage. Battery management is handled by the Sunny Island.
Battery Backup System 2.jpg