diy solar

diy solar

Solis S5_EH1P5K-L inverter charge battery at saem time as feeding to grid?

cyberhen

Does the Solis inverter below have the capability of charging battery and dumping 5kW to grid simultaenously. I'm new to the solar market, but would anticipate that it would be best to dump to grid in early morning and try maximise the capacity at miday to charge battery and dump to grid at same time. I know that midday may not be best time depedning on cloud cover etc. We are limited to 5kW dump to Grid in Ireland and looking at possibilty that when th e panels are exceeding this we charge the battery at same time as feeding back to grid
S5-EH1P(3-6)K-L
5kW of Inverter Power
SOLIS - Ningbo Ginlong Technologies
1 x S5-EH1P5K-L

5 -year Standard Warranty

SolisLogo.png

Welcome!

Does the Solis inverter below have the capability of charging battery and dumping 5kW to grid simultaenously.
Yes and no (see below), assuming you are generating more than the 5kW from PV input.

The S5-EH1P5K-L can receive up to 8kW of PV and generate up to 5kW on its AC-grid port.

So if you are generating 8kW from solar and your battery is only demanding up to 3kW, then the remaining 5kW will be available on the AC-grid port. Assuming you have not limited grid export, then the amount of grid export will be that 5kW less the house usage, less the losses in transmission from inverter to grid connection.

IMHO though, you would be better to purchase the S5-EH1P6K-L as that can provide 6kW from its AC-grid port (assuming you have at least 1kW of solar as battery discharge is limited to 5kW). Then you can set the export power limitation to the 5kW to meet the requirements of your DNO, but that allows you to use up to 6kW in your house from the inverter. The price difference between the S5-EH1P5K-L and S5-EH1P6K-L is minimal.