diy solar

diy solar

system advice for big residential heat pump, limited budget.

robinlawrie

Hi all, newbie here. Im restoring an old countryside school in southern Italy. It will be our house. its 300 sq metres, flat roof , 50cm tuff stone walls.

Unfortunately most of the state financing which was supposed to assist us, has just been stopped (new government) , so we are left with a budget that is much too small for the building.

One thing we can still get financial assistance with is a heatpump.

This means a big old heatpump to offset the lack of insulation we can no longer afford. probably at least 20kw, more likely 25.

I will be digging into my "emergency fund" to build out a pv system (im handy with electronics and building stuff generally, and have a tame local electrician who will help make sure its all wired properly. ) , without which, the heatpump will be insanely expensive to run (20+ euro cents per kwh here...)

(one saving grace is we will hopefully also have a 30kw wood/pellet fired fireplace (water heating) which can substitute/assist the heatpump when its cloudy/too cold/night etc.. , so if careful we can avoid too much grid consumption, without consuming 1000kg of wood a day)

the other saving grace is we have lots of sun and a massive south aligned flat roof with almost no shade.

not knowing the exact model of heatpump (the engineer will be sizing the system) im not sure of exact requirements. however ive seen a few 25 kw heatpumps which suggest an 11kw circuit breaker, so that seems a good ballpark for how much it *could* consume on a bad day.

obviously all the other household loads need considering too..

note that feed in tariffs here are so small as to generally not be worth the hassle.

im imagining a system which will use pv/batteries where possible, and take from the grid when necessary. I'm guessing 3 phase is necessary.. Here any residential connection over 6 kw is provided as 3 phase apart from in special circumstances.