diy solar

diy solar

TBD-Smart Shunt Notes

Wiltonh

I have been using this shunt for a few months now and have a few notes that I have not seen elsewhere on the internet or in the manual.

My system consists of 425 watts of solar connected with a Renology controller to a 200AH LiPO4 battery.
  1. The battery must be fully charged to setup the shunt.
  2. You must put in the battery size and full charge voltage into settings.
  3. When setting up the shunt there are 3 different resets that can be done. The first one is the zero current which must be done with no connections to the battery.
  4. The second one is a full charge synchronize to tell the controller that the battery is full.
  5. The third one is the clear history which is in the top left corner of the history page. My shunt came with crazy values stored in history but a clear fixed that.
  6. There is some confusion about using a shunt that is connected in the negative lead of the battery compared to one that uses a donut around the positive wires. The donut has access to all power going in and out of the system. The ground connected shunt has access to all power going in and out of the battery. There is a difference. If you are using a lithium battery that has its own BMS it will shut off when full. At that point any power that is being used comes directly from the solar panels and does not get counted in the total energy created. My Renology controller gives me a total amount of KW hours created and it does not match the shunt. If you used a generator or a 120 volt converter the shunt would stop measuring the energy created once the battery was full. On the donut based system it will be accurate as long as all positive wires go through the donut. I do not consider this a disadvantage but it can be confusing when the controller has a different value than the shunt.