diy solar

diy solar

Total NOOB question about SCC settings.

Sean Steele

I've had my Renogy SCC installed for a few days now, running off of a small portable panel until I can get the two rooftop panels installed. Today is the first day that the monitor has shown the battery to be fully charged. Shouldn't it kick down to a float voltage or something? Monitor readings and settings in pics.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210111-152446.png
    Screenshot_20210111-152446.png
    249 KB · Views: 9
  • Screenshot_20210111-153422.png
    Screenshot_20210111-153422.png
    304.7 KB · Views: 10
No.

The 100% is purely based on the voltage. It is completely unreliable as a true measure of the state of charge, and it should always be ignored.

Once absorption voltage is attained, it must dwell there tapering current to maintain it until the battery is fully charged. It will remain there for the "boost charge time" period of 120 minutes.

Thank you for a very thorough answer. I swear I thought I understood all of this. When I saw it sitting at 14.6 for an extended period of time, I thought it was damaging my battery. I've probably been doing more damage only running my generator to charge with the converter/charger for 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours at night.

Wife and I have been full time for five years but this is our first winter boondocking in AZ.

Of course, when my lifepo battery gets here in Feb, I'll have a whole new set of parameters to figure out. The SCC has presets for LI, I hope they match what the battery wants. I also bought a new converter/charger that can be stitched from 3 stage to one stage and has adjustable voltage output. Hopefully I can read/learn enough by Feb that I don't have to come back to the beginners section to ask another NOOB question.