diy solar

diy solar

Trying to create a small solar kit to power a commercial quality outdoor solar light.

MikeJD

I have no background in building any solar power kits. I am not looking to do a diy on a big kit to power many things or something like a shed. All I am looking to do is to power a single commercial quality outdoor light that would help in lighting a patio area. I rent, so I wanted a light rig that I can transport to another place if I move. Because solar power is wireless, I thought creating a portable solar kit for a outdoor light would be the best solution if I wanted something that could be moved easily. I see a lot of products sold on Amazon or other websites that are all-in-one solar outdoor lights with the solar panels (battery kit, etc.) included that use a remote to control them. They all seem to be cheaply made lights with cheaply made batteries that won't hold up over time. I thought with the purchase of good USA commercial quality LED light paired with a custom created solar power kit that has a quality battery would be the way to go. I am looking for some information on how I would go about doing this. I am surprised that there are no YouTube videos on a diy outdoor customized solar kit that is made to run just outdoor lighting. I would think that would be useful to some people trying to light areas a good distance away from their house. Especially people who own a lot of land, and who don't want to invest in cheaply made solar lights with commercial retailers. Again, any information on this would be greatly appreciated.

First, define what you need to power, how much power it uses and then how many hours you want to run it.

Second, where will you put the solar panel? Ideally, you need sunrise to sunset exposure.

Third, how long do you want to be able to power the light in the event that solar is not available due to clouds, etc.