diy solar

diy solar

Opinions on this solar kit

MaineHomesteader

Hey all,

We are going to be setting up an off grid system. I’m a novice so any help is greatly appreciated. We are building a 1440sqft house. We will need to run a well pump (Grundfos 5-SQ-320) 240v. The pump will be used to pump into a cistern every few weeks so there won’t be a pressure tank. Other than that our loads will be fridge, chest freezer, led lights, food processor (probably once or twice a month) and charging phones and laptops. I might be missing some other items but this is the basic list.

I know most folks don’t recommend going with solar kits because it’s generally cheaper to buy everything individually. However I’m curious about this kit from Current Connected:

Does this look good? What would you change in this kit? I’m not familiar with solar panel brands, any thoughts on those?

I’m really interested in the PowerPro battery because it’s heated and we’re in a cold climate. I’m thinking I might want to add another battery.

Thanks in advance!

We are going to be setting up an off grid system. I’m a novice so any help is greatly appreciated. We are building a 1440sqft house. We will need to run a well pump (Grundfos 5-SQ-320) 240v. The pump will be used to pump into a cistern every few weeks so there won’t be a pressure tank. Other than that our loads will be fridge, chest freezer, led lights, food processor (probably once or twice a month) and charging phones and laptops. I might be missing some other items but this is the basic list.
There are others on here with a lot of experience of off-grid (I am grid-tied), but my initial thoughts is that looks like a small system to be off-grid with. Have you done a detailed energy audit?

I am thinking you haven't mentioned space heating, cooking or laundry. How will you be powering the oven, kettle, microware, air fryer, washing machine, tumble dryer etc. - those are the larger consumers of electricity IMHO.