diy solar

diy solar

UK Battery Recommendation Fogstar 460ah or Sok 3x100ah or Renogy 3x100ah?

Sean3007

Hi,

I'm trying to decide what batteries to go for in my van, for roughly the same price I can get 3 x Sok 100ah, 3 x Renogy 100ah or 1 x Fogstar 460ah.

Does anyone have an opinion on any of these batteries please? Is there a downside to going for one big battery over multiples of a smaller one?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Links to the batteries:

Sok 100ah - https://www.europe.sokbattery.com/p...0ah-lifepo4-battery-bluetooth-built-in-heater
Renogy 100ah - https://uk.renogy.com/12v-100ah-smart-lithium-iron-phosphate-battery-w-self-heating-function/
Fogstar 460ah - https://www.fogstar.co.uk/collectio.../products/fogstar-drift-460ah-leisure-battery

Welcome!

First, please note that I have no experience of those batteries, or any connection with Fogstar, apart from being a satisfied customer of their raw prismatic cells.

But if I was looking for a battery of that type and, being in the UK, I would have no hesitation in choosing the Fogstar option. They seem a responsive company and @Ben@Fogstar is active on this forum. Others on here seem happy with their rack battery packs and Ben's attention to detail in the design of Fogstar products.

My only concern re "one big battery over multiples of a smaller one" would be a) the weight (but I guess you have bigger muscles than me ?️‍♀️ ) and b) if one fails, you have no power, rather than having _some_ power available. (sorry that's two concerns).

But if either of those is a concern you could also consider several of Fogstar's smaller batteries (e.g. their 105Ah one) which are still cheaper than SOK or Renogy equivalents?