diy solar

diy solar

UK - Storage/Solar in detached garage

swebbs1000v

Hi,

Newbie here from UK, read a lot on this forum and YT but very much still learning!

My scenario is wanting to add DIY battery storage as stage 1, and solar as stage 2, installed in remote garage (45 metres away) but connected to house (+ grid tied at house only). House roof not suitable for solar but detached garage is. I've done a sketch as attached of the layout, everything existing except the orange bits. I want to be able to charge the battery storage at night (called Economy 7 in UK), and feed back to the house during the day. Stage 2 of the project will then be to add solar to the garage roof which has a suitable roof (house roof isn't an option).

Main question is this even possible, and what if anything do I need to add to control things within the house? I can add some more details like loadings etc if needed.

Any advice much appreciated, Thanks!

swebbs

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-01-06 141128.png
    Screenshot 2023-01-06 141128.png
    35.8 KB · Views: 22
Batteries in a garage are not good, the colder climate severely limits their charging ability. I have a 5.2kWh battery pack in my workshop and it will only take about half charge in 4 hours of cheap electricity. There are also issues with the cable length potentially causing the supply inverter to overload and shut-down when a high load is applied within the house. I'm trying to resolve these exact issues right now and my cable run is 30m! Maybe take a look at a wall-hung all-in-one AC storage system such as the Puredrive Purestore 10kWh, I have one in the house and it works fine, no issues with cold restricting charge rates - all it needs is the occasional full discharge/recharge cycle to keep things "in line".

Hi,

Newbie here from UK, read a lot on this forum and YT but very much still learning!