diy solar

diy solar

Detached garage requirements

tinstar751

Hello all, newbie here. I have a detached garage that I want to be able to run a 1/2 HP garage door opener and a few LED lights. Nothing fancy. I know the opener uses a out 750 watts. I was planning on using 12v lighting. Generally speaking, the door would only be opened and closed about 3-4 times a week max as it is generally used for storage. I was hoping to use one battery, an inverter, charger controller and one panel. My problem is that I don't know how big of a battery or panel I would need. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

a, How many lights?
b, What wattage?
c, How many hours?

a * b * c = Wh of lights.

Assuming it takes a lengthy 60 seconds to open/close:

750W/60m/h = 12.5 Wh per open or close. Assume one cycle per day, 25Wh/day.

Add 25Wh/day to the calculated Wh of lights, and you have your total energy requirements.

Then you can determine your solar availability and size your battery/PV accordingly.

Refer to item 1 in my signature.

a, How many lights?
b, What wattage?
c, How many hours?

a * b * c = Wh of lights.

Assuming it takes a lengthy 60 seconds to open/close:

750W/60m/h = 12.5 Wh per open or close. Assume one cycle per day, 25Wh/day.

Add 25Wh/day to the calculated Wh of lights, and you have your total energy requirements.

Then you can determine your solar availability and size your battery/PV accordingly.

Refer to item 1 in my signature.
Thank you for the reply. The lights will bearly be used as during the day if at all as there are sky lights and it is plenty bright during the day. When used at night, it would be most likely just to pull a trailer in or out, 10min tops. Not sure of the wattage as I have not purchased them yet. I will check the info in your signature.

Thanks again!

I'm assuming there is no power source there at all right now from a nearby house or whatever? Just seems like a lot of fuss for almost never touched.