diy solar

diy solar

When is a fan inside a DIY power station required?

AF_Bob

Newbie here. For those who built their Power Station, can someone please tell me what criteria is used to know whether a box fan is required? I'm installing 2 100-Amp Li Time Mini batteries in series (24V), connected to a Giandel 24VDC to 110VAC 2,000 watt pure sine wave inverter. I'll be using a Victron MPPT 100|15A solar charge controller connected to 4 100-Watt Ecoflow Mono solar panels in series (68.1V nominal at 5.9A).

Since the inverter has its own fan and the BMS is inside the LIFEPO4 battery (I think it's mounted vertically inside the Mini Li Time battery case at one end), do I need to install a fan at all? If so, do I need more than one fan? The case is a RIGID 2.0 25" all-terrain rolling cart but the inside dimensions are really more like 19" wide, 12" deep/front-to-back, and 14" tall. I'm actually hoping everything will fit. Worst case, I'll get a smaller box that fits on top for the inverter.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've already learned a great deal from reading posts on this website regarding pre-charging of the inverter capacitors. I plan on using a cut-off switch to ensure 0 current from the batteries when the power station is off and rather than zap the inverter with 24+ volts (2,560 WH capacity from the batteries), I plan on using a momentary push-button near the cut-off switch to supply 24V to the inverter through a 30 Ohm, 25 watt resistor for a few seconds before I turn on the switch.

The thing is that the air inside tge box is going to get warm making it harder to dissipate heat which adds more heat making it harder to dissipate heat and the evil cycle begins.

At the very least you need some sort of vent holes to allow the hot air out, but a temp controlled fan would work better. I personally prefer the Noctua IP67 fans and a basic thermostat. They're quiet, move a good amount of air, and weather resistant.