diy solar

diy solar

10 gauge PV transition to regular Copper???

crcastor

My plan is to use the PV wire up until the PV breaker box on the outside of the house. Then to use regular copper up the outside wall through the attic over to another cutoff before going into the inverter. Looking for recommended copper gauge size??? (928v 8.9A)
Please be nice I am a newbie ?

The insulation thickness is Something I learned a while back but totally forgot ? Looks like the idea of just running PV through some conduit up in the attic all the way from outside cut off switch to the inverter is probably way to go.

The issue (cost wise) will be the voltage requirement. <10A is nothing. You can run 14 AWG for that assuming the correct insulation.

I personally ran 6 AWG for my 450V 18A runs to future proof it for additions.

928v ?‍♂️?
That is the number you need to insure your PV wire is rated in excess of.
As mentioned, conduit diameter versus cable count is another element to cross check before you buy.
Also I’m told some solar wire is rated 105*C but most is ~90*C. Even temco- but the UL 10ga temco on amazon is only 600V. PowrMR on amazingzon is published as 1800V oddly enough; there’s no mention of UL…

Last edited:
The issue (cost wise) will be the voltage requirement. <10A is nothing. You can run 14 AWG for that assuming the correct insulation.

I personally ran 6 AWG for my 450V 18A runs to future proof it for additions.
Much depends on the Vmp voltage and the voltage drop due to distance.

14 ga, 10A, 380VDC, run of 420 feet will be 5.87% voltage drop.

10 ga, 10, 380VDC run of 420 feet will be 2.27% voltage drop.

14 ga, 10A, 150VDC, run of 420 feet will be 14.87% voltage drop.

10 ga, 10A, 150VDC, run of 420 feet will be 5.75% voltage drop.

Calculator found here. https://www.southwire.com/calculator-vdrop