diy solar

diy solar

12kw growatt inverter install

godsglory22

As I read every one's q & a's I'm quite intimidated. I have no knowledge and only learning online. I bought the growatt 12kw split phase off grid. I have (18) 395w Canadian biracial panels. How should I arrange the solar arrays? I thought at first an array couldn't exceed 1200w, after reading thru these threads, I'm now questioning everything I thought I had set up. I have a 6 array combiner box the arrays will feed too. Planned to do 6 arrays at 3 panels each. Also does it matter if the panels are connected in series or parallel when using growatt? I planned to connect positive to negative in each array.
I havnt actually ran everything and still installing it all.
Also the gauge of wire running from my combiner box, 6g or 10g? Also conflicting answers I've received. Thank you and any suggestions is more than I have right now now.

There are a couple models of Growatt 12K inverters and they have different specs for Solar input. Can you share the exact model you have?

Here is the spec sheet I will reference from - https://signaturesolar.com/content/documents/GROWATT/1519004-specs.pdf
7000w Solar Input Maximum Total
150VDC

I don't know anything about your panels, so you need to do this math based on what the labels say. Lets use a value of 48v's per panel

First let start with the maximum input for your MPPT chargers.

7000w / 2 = 3500w maximum for each input

3500 / 385 = 9 panel MAXIMUM
150v / 48v = 3 panel MAXIMUM

What this means is we hit the voltage open circuit max before we hit the wattage max - so base your system on this basic set of principals.

You have 18 panels
18 / 3 = 6 (this is the number of parallel strings that will come into the combiner)

Next we take the VOC (voltage open circuit) and divide the total number of watts to get our amp load
18 panels * 395w = 7110w

7110 / 144v (48v x3) = 49.375a