diy solar

diy solar

12v, 24v, or 48v?

jbclem

As a solar novice I need to decide on the voltage of my system. I'm not sure what the advantages and disadvantages are of the different choices. Why is 12v better or worse than 24v or 48v? In my case, I want to start out with a portable system to deal with power outages (I'm in a brush fire area), but I want to be able to expand it later on. Initially I need to be able to run my refrigerator(full load amps: 6.5a, a few lights, my desktop computer with a router and modem, a small laser printer. Also a 1250 watt electric frying pan. The power outages usually last from 1-4 days.

Advice and suggestions would be welcomed...

My own rule of thumb is pretty close. I think your normal running battery current should be under 100 amps. If you need short peaks above that, you can decide, but if the constant load is over about 1,000 watts, I think you have hit the limit for a 12 volt system. And when your constant load goes over 2,000 watts, the 24 volt system starts to top out as well. With inverter efficiency and wire losses, that is close to 100 amps at the battery. By 3,000 watts, you are certainly going into 48 volt levels.

If the normal load is only 500 watts, you can use a 2,000 watt inverter and run a microwave once in a while on a 12 volt system. But you still then need cables and a battery that are able to handle 200 amps. If you go to 24 volts, then your running load of 500 watts is under 25 amps and the microwave only hits 100 so you can use smaller cables.

Look at all of the things you want to be able to run. Add up the wattage of what will run at any given time and that will decide on the inverter size. But then also think about how long things will run together and plan out the battery size for the current needed as well as the run time in watt hours. We call this "An Energy Audit".

Blurb time!

Well, I'll start the default answer to these questions and we can work from there. Here's you To-Do list: