diy solar

diy solar

24VDC Solar and System Design

Kugel8x57

Hello Everyone. I'm not a complete newbie to DC systems, but new to "Off-Grid" type systems.

Let me start off with some basic comments:

1) I have a family member that is T1D (Type-1 Diabetic), and their insulin must be stored in cool box (ice-chest or refrigerator).
2) We live in an area regularly threatened by hurricanes,tornadoes and thunderstorms, which can, and have, caused long power outages.
3) Also, we live outside of town and have a well; so, when the power is out, we can only have intermittent water by running a generator.
4) We get plenty of sunshine, but not a lot of usable wind - too many tall trees around us.

Things I plan to do, to help mitigate power outage problems:

1) I plan to reopen an unused existing shallow well, install a 500 gallon water tank/tower and a 150 Gallon/Day Charcoal Water Filtration System.
2) Build two small 24vdc systems: one to power a 12vdc/24vdc refrigerator; and, one to power a 24vdc-5A submersible well pump for the water tower.
3) Build two solar panel systems; one each to charge the above refrigerator/well systems.
4) Build a 24VDC Generator system using a PMG or PMA and small gas or diesel engine. This will allow me to run the well pump for extended periods,
if necessary, and be able to charge both battery banks relatively quickly, during inclement weather.

Things that I think I have learned from Mr. Will Prowse and others in my personal research, so far:

1) 24vdc systems are a good compromise for higher voltage, lower current, safety, higher efficiency and cost.
2) Although the initial cost is higher, 24vdc appliances and equipment are more efficient that using 120vac and an inverter... probably around 20% better overall.
3) Although initial system cost in higher, mainly due to the extra battery cost, the lower system current helps to offset that by higher efficiency
lower wiring cost and lower operating temperatures, leading to longer life.