diy solar

diy solar

40A MPP LV2424 Input vs. 50A RV Grid Rating

LivingTheDream

Hello Everyone,

Let me start out by saying I'm a noob, so be gentle.

I have my 16 LIFEPo4 all top balanced and ready to finally get my system installed.

Here are the particulars:
  • Solar Panels will be 2s2p @ 1640W / 84V / 19.3A
  • Battery will be 8s2p @ 24V / 560Ah
  • Overkill 8s 100A BMS x 2
  • MPP Hybrid LV2424
  • DC/DC Converter (24v > 12v) @ 100A
Where I'm hung up is this:
The instructions to the MPP suggest putting a breaker between the inverter and the grid power coming in. My RV takes 50A service when I go to the RV park (which is rare). The input rating on this inverter is 40A. Do I have a problem?

I've attached a drawing that I'm still working on and is missing an item or two, such as the line from the 12VDC 80A breaker to the leveling system. So you may see something that doesn't look right, feel free to let me know.

TYIA,
Brian

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 1.10.25 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 1.10.25 PM.png
    201.1 KB · Views: 18
Hello Everyone,

Let me start out by saying I'm a noob, so be gentle.

I have my 16 LIFEPo4 all top balanced and ready to finally get my system installed.

You will likely want to top them off immediately before deploying them.

Here are the particulars:
  • Solar Panels will be 2s2p @ 1640W / 84V / 19.3A
  • Battery will be 8s2p @ 24V / 560Ah
  • Overkill 8s 100A BMS x 2
  • MPP Hybrid LV2424
  • DC/DC Converter (24v > 12v) @ 100A
Where I'm hung up is this:
The instructions to the MPP suggest putting a breaker between the inverter and the grid power coming in. My RV takes 50A service when I go to the RV park (which is rare). The input rating on this inverter is 40A. Do I have a problem?

Yes. That unit can only accept 40A input at 120V. 50A shore power is 120/240VAC split phase.