diy solar

diy solar

48V Solar system / 24V water pump

patrickboileau

I'm quite the beginner here, so excuse some of the ignorance. We are off grid cabin. I've got the growatt 3000 inverter, and a 48V battery set up (8 x 6V). My water pump is 24V and so we connected it directly at 24V (just 4 batteries). The pump is about 100ft way from the solar system. When I tested my batteries this spring, a couple of them were worse off than others and don't seem to be recovering as well. Is this set up hurting my batteries? Is there a better solution?

Thanks for any advice/help!

Have you considered changing your pump to AC? A 100ft run at 120vAC has very little loss vs a 24vDC run. If you have to stay with a 24vDC pump because it is down in the well you might want to consider a dedicated 24v battery just for it with its own charger from your Growatt. Some loss of efficiency but your present setup is not optimum for your batteries.

I would check the specs on the pump, because many DC water pumps are rated for a wide voltage range, 30-300v. you can probably run it on 48v. if not, upgrade to a grundfos and run it at 48v.

I would check the specs on the pump, because many DC water pumps are rated for a wide voltage range, 30-300v. you can probably run it on 48v. if not, upgrade to a grundfos and run it at 48v.

"Danger, Will Robinson!"

Don't assume this. Given his description of "off-grid cabin", he may have a RV diaphragm pump for fixtures in the cabin. Those definitely will NOT tolerate anything but the voltage they are rated for.

"Danger, Will Robinson!"

Don't assume this. Given his description of "off-grid cabin", he may have a RV diaphragm pump for fixtures in the cabin. Those definitely will NOT tolerate anything but the voltage they are rated for.