diy solar

diy solar

AC to DC powered woodshop

larrygordon

Hi there, this is my first time posting here, and I'm excited to get some feedback on this system that I'm trying to build out. I've got a few years of EE experience from back in the 90's, so I'm a little rusty. I don't have experience with inverters, inverter/chargers, or battery chargers, and this will be my first time building out a system like this.

My current situation, is that I'm renting a private garage in my apartment building, and I'm trying to build out a woodshop. The problem that I have the power is limited to a single 120v 15 amp outlet. I need to run a dust extractor along with my other power tools (table saw, planer, jointer, etc...), which averages out to just under 3000 watts of power. I basically need a 120v 30 amp system, so I thought I could build out a pseudo off-grid type system, that is powered from the 120v 15 amp shore power outlet.

Here are some of my needs:
1. At least a 4000 watt inverter to support the 30 amps of power I plan to pull.
2. Would like to charge the batteries while the system is under load (power tools are in use).
3. I'm looking to use 4 12v 200Ah LiFePO4 batteries in series and parallel to get me 24v 400Ah of power.

My questions:
1. Can I charge the LiFePO4 batteries using an AC to DC charger while the system is under load?
2. Can I use an Inverter/Charger to charge the batteries while the system is under load?

I've attached a diagram to help illustrate the two options I'm thinking of.

Much appreciation for any advice you all can give.

Attachments

• Power Inverter.drawio.png
    Power Inverter.drawio.png
    276.9 KB · Views: 5
1. Can I charge the LiFePO4 batteries using an AC to DC charger while the system is under load?
Yes

2. Can I use an Inverter/Charger to charge the batteries while the system is under load?
That depends on the inverter charger. For want you are doing, the Victron Multiplus line of inverters are a really good match.