diy solar

diy solar

Advice needed on stand-alone battery backup system

Jackie-Hangman

Hi guys,

As you can see, I'm new around here and would like to get your opinions/advice/suggestions on the following equipment and their viability as a trolley/cabinet system, charged from the grid only - something like a portable power station:

INVERTER: Growatt SPF 5000 ES | 5Kw | 48V
BATTERY: LiFeTIDE LiFePO4 | 51.2V | 100Ah | 5120Wh
AVS: Automatic Voltage Protector 60A
PRICE: $1600 (R30 000 - South African Rands)

Website page link

Some background

I'm from South Africa, as you can probably tell, and I am sure you have heard of the horror stories of the "Loadshedding" (a.k.a power failures) that we live with down here. I have some rather basic knowledge of batteries and inverters after reading a couple books, some posts on this forum and watching some videos on Youtube. The original plan was to assemble my own battery backup kit to get us through "loadshedding", using EVE prismatic cells, but then I recently saw the above mentioned equipment and thought it may be a better option for me with regards to time. We are currently renting and so don't really want to install anything permanent, plus I read there is apparently a 5 month wait to acquire permission to install solar power in my area, due to a backlog. Hence why we are looking at something more immediate and movable.

What we need from the system

How often will we need the system running:
2 - 3 times per day
How long will we need the system running for each time: Roughly 4 hours per session
Grid time available to recharge the battery between power failures: 4 hours
Our power consumption needs: 510 W per hour (basic needs) or 800 W per hour (ideal)
System location: In a corner of the lounge (negotiable)