diy solar

diy solar

Balance Optimization, software?

falgsc-al

Greetings,

Has anyone by chance found a program that can match a pack by parameters? I have a lot of cells to choose from, for 2 3S/8P LiPo packs, and I was hoping there was a program to help me choose which 3 to parallel to get a nearest match when I series them together. Optimized matching I would call it but Im not an expert.

Any help is greatly appreciated

Attachments

• 925DA550-A665-4E70-85A3-CCE3BE4C31D2.jpeg
    925DA550-A665-4E70-85A3-CCE3BE4C31D2.jpeg
    419 KB · Views: 6
I've built 98 packs (so far) of 260ah each - nearing 10,000 18650 cells of about 6 different types.

This will work.... (you don't need fancy)
1) Discard cells with abnormally high IR.
2) Set aside cells that test <85% or <90% original capacity - set a cut-off and higher the better based on your source of cells.
3) Arrange the cells by type and 100mah capacity groups based on your testing.
4) Then round-robin, evenly distribute among the packs that will make up your battery. This will give even ah / pack.
Note: IF you can use all the same cell type for your battery, its a little better.

What can happen...
The main thing I found is that even when tested ah are 'perfectly matched' per pack, you can sometimes get a pack in the series that makes up the battery to be 'just a little weaker' for some reason. SO... I leave room (some blank cell holder spots) to add up to add a few cells. Up to 10% of the pack ah size. This has happened on mixed cell packs about 4% of the time. And has happened on same cell type packs 1% of the time.

I don't mean to overblow the pack 'sag'.. I just noticed it because I use Batrium with individual pack longmons - so I can see this easily. If you using a less expensive BMS such as DALY or something like that - it will likely just balance up and you'll not see anything.

First, 3S8P is confusing. You mean 3P8S for 24V?