diy solar

diy solar

Beginning My Energy Storage Journey In The UK!

Lpallen1987

Hi Everyone!

Firstly I'm new here and new to energy storage so be nice, I might come out with some silly questions but I'm a quick learner!

My background is I'm a HVAC engineer with a can do attitude and I like saving money

I had a quote from a local reputable company for a solar panel and battery system to be installed. the company representative informed me that there wasn't enough room on my roof to install solar panels and recommended a battery only system. The battery system would charge from the grid during the night at a low pence per Kw rate and we would then use the batteries during the day which sounds great!

Now why couldn't I install this myself? started my research, found this forum, all the batteries and equipment seems readily available.....

where's the best place to start?
where's the best place to buy the kit in the UK?
I think I'm going to use 3 Plyon US5000 Batteries
An inverter to convert the DC battery voltage to 240v AC... manufacture recommendations?
Do I need some sort of controller to charge the batteries at night and use them during the day?

Thanks in advance!

Sounds like your looking for a Hybrid Inverter, Solis do a range, many others. ITs Technologies have a good website that supply various packages, batteries, or individual items.

Hi Everyone!
Welcome! Here is my 2p worth...

Firstly I'm new here and new to energy storage so be nice, I might come out with some silly questions but I'm a quick learner!
There are never silly questions... only silly answers (sometimes) ;)

I had a quote from a local reputable company for a solar panel and battery system to be installed. the company representative informed me that there wasn't enough room on my roof to install solar panels and recommended a battery only system.