diy solar

diy solar

BMS 48V questions with temp and size and communication

mrzed001

Voice of reason
Hi newbie here

I have some questions about BMS
I want to make a 16s 100A 48V system (Fortune cells) mainly for UPS reasons. And safety first ...

1, Is there a way to monitor the temperature of all 16 cells? 16 temp sensor ?

2, a 150A BMS is enough for a 100A system (like this Daly https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4001326967928.html ) ... or bigger is better ?

3, if I want to double the battery Wh what is the best?
Make a second 16s pack (with own BMS) or make a big 2p16s pack (200A) with 1 BMS ?

For 1 pack I think 30-40A max for loading ... but if 2 pack I can not set 2x40A=80A in inverter because if first already full second gets all the 80A (I dont want to hammer it, slow is good)
So if 2 pack and 2 BMS can they communicate with inverter and lower the Amp ?

4, I want to use a MPP solar 5048 inverter. Here it says I can connect BMS to it with RS485 https://www.mppsolar.com/v3/pylontech/
First question is Daly or and other BMS is compatible with it?

Also I do not want to break the MPP warranty and solder its button like Will did
so the second question: can this do the same trick and shut down the inverter (in a battery cell high temp or cell low volt situation) ?

Thanks

1) That would be pretty expensive and useless as all cells will be roughly at the same temp. You can do a sensor at each end and one in the middle for example if you really want some redundancy ;)

2) Bigger is always better. 150 A for a 100 A system is fine tho.

3) Best is two packs with a BMS for each.

3.5) That will be almost impossible without some DIY. And first you need to find an inverter where you can limit the power; I never saw one IIRC, they're kind of on/off devices, not half on.

4) I don't know, sorry. Best option would be to ask the manufacturers.

1) if one of the cells is (going)wrong, that will overheat (or produce more heat).