diy solar

diy solar

BMS problems (?)... please help! (edited)

RyanNicholas

Help! I'm not sure my bms is working right... I'm a newbie and recently put together a 12v life lifepo4 battery from 280ah eve cells... everything has been working fine for weeks, but today I woke up before sunrise and my charge controllers screen was completely blank and I was getting no power. When I volt test the cells they all read around 3.3, and the whole battery read around 13.2 *from the terminals* - BUT when I read from the external contacts (ie, with the bms involved), it was only reading 0.70. Why would it do that? My SmartBMS app was (and still is) showing a "0%" SOC - But that makes no sense because this is a fairly sizable battery bank and I haven't been using anywhere near enough power to fully discharge the battery. It was Sunny all day down here in Mexico yesterday, plus I did a fair amount of driving during the day and have an isolator routed from my vehicle battery.
Since the sun has risen, the direct volt readings on the battery/cells have stayed pretty much the same - but the reading from the outer contacts (with bms) has risen to just over 5v. (*also, as I've been typing this, the fan started running, weakly..) The charge controller has gone from a completely dead LCD screen to a Lit up low battery flashing mode. As far as I can tell this all seems to imply that the battery was actually dead and is beginning to charge up from the solar panels. But I just don't understand how that's possible. I really need to figure this out, because I'm not exactly in a familiar place. Please help!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210304-062350_SMART BMS.jpg
    Screenshot_20210304-062350_SMART BMS.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 18
  • 20210304_071654.jpg
    20210304_071654.jpg
    84.2 KB · Views: 20
  • 20210304_072055.jpg
    20210304_072055.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 19
Last edited:
Hello Ryan,

I’m sorry your bms isn’t working right.

Could you share the model of bms?