diy solar

diy solar

Budget MPPT recommendation - Epever BN 40A 150V - was Eco-Worthy 60A 150V MPPT

AlpineJoe

I'm starting to put my off grid setup together finally. Looking to peel off ~ 200W of 24/7 power consumption, and have a power source if we have any planned or unplanned power shutdowns.

My system will be 24V with LiFePO4 batteries that total up to about 400AH of storage.

I'm going to feed this with 6 qty REC Solar 250W panels (Voc is 37.4V, Vmpp 30.7V, Impp 8.3A) in a 3 series, 2 parallel setup.

This is the controller I was looking to get. https://www.ebay.com/itm/275555190008
ECO-WORTHY 60A MPPT Solar Charge Controller 12/24/36/48V DC Input

The max input voltage is higher than the 3 series connection, and the 60A on paper is enough.

Any reason I shouldn't get this SCC?

Edit: now looking at the Epever BN series, 150V input 40A output as I don't want a fan.

Last edited:
Well, I have been using Outback Power Flexmax controllers for the past 7 years. They work 24x7 and not a single hiccup. They are built tough and for the long haul. But here is what really counts: MPPT is a computer software program in the firmware of the controller. The task of the program is to take an input voltage and amperage from the panels and create a new output voltage and amperage such that the batteries charge faster. Amps go into batteries, volts don't. Brand name controllers like Outback, Morningstar, etc are quality products that work the best. doesn't mean this one won't too. it's just that the others will. Depends on your time and budget.

I have not used Ecoworthy but the specs look OK and should work.

Are you doing ground mount or roof?
What I want to do eventually - Roof mount on my composite roof but facing West'ish. This is the shortest run from the panels to the battery pack and not visible from the street. If I can find someone to professionally come in and put down rails and my panels for a good price, I'd do that.