diy solar

diy solar

Can I use my house ground instead of a separate grounding rod for my off-grid stuff?

ArtieKendall

The manual for the EG4 battery rack says to connect it to a grounding rod. I would rather not do that, for two reasons: I don't want to drill a hole in my wall to run a grounding wire outside to a rod, and I don't want to set up a potential ground loop when I plug my charger/inverter into the wall. If either of those reasons sounds stupid, it's because I am brand new to this stuff, so please let me know if the above makes no sense.

My question (assuming the above isn't dumb) is, can I just connect all my equipment grounding screws to my house ground? I would like to just turn off a breaker for an unused outlet, pull the outlet out of the wall, disconnect its ground wire, and connect that ground wire to the ground screws on my batteries, inverter, etc. And of course, do something with the other wires to the outlet so they won't shock anybody if somebody accidentally turns the breaker back on.

Would that work?

If truly off-grid with no connection I don't think a ground is even needed.

Anything like a portable generator or RV does not need a ground unless connected to a grid system.

Anything like a portable generator or RV does not need a ground unless connected to a grid system.
The only connection to the grid will be when I plug the AIO into the wall to charge the batteries when there's no sun, but that will be a regular three-prong 120V AC cord that has a ground wire connected to the house ground.

Anything like a portable generator or RV does not need a ground unless connected to a grid syst

When you say it isn't needed....does this assume a NG bond screw in place on the inverter? That this would trip a breaker to protect the circuit?

When you say it isn't needed....does this assume a NG bond screw in place on the inverter? That this would trip a breaker to protect the circuit?