diy solar

diy solar

Can't charge over 27v with EG4 LLv2 batteries

GreenMtnScout

Hey Everyone,
Newbie here, thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

I recently installed 6 EG4 LLv2 batteries(coming from lead acid and still running a 24v system). I have a Trace SW4024 inverter that's worked great for over 20 years. I never had any issue charging the lead acid batteries up to 30 volts on an equalization run. With these new batteries, I'm not charging over 27 volts, on generator or solar. The automatic generator start is working, but it almost immediately goes into float mode and then shuts down 20 minutes later(at the most). Manually running the generator will bring the voltage up to 27 or 27.1, and it'll stay at that voltage for the remainder of the time it's running. I'll have around 120 amps coming in, so each battery is getting around 20 amps for charging. Even after an eight or nine hour run, the batteries won't be fully charged. I've ordered two of these chargers(https://signaturesolar.com/eg4-battery-charger-24v-35a-1/) to plug into the system and will use them to supplement the generator(which is a 12kw kohler wired for 120).

I've talked to signature solar and have received conflicting information. The last tech I talked to said this was normal behavior. Previous techs wanted me to set the charge voltage to 30 to try to reset the BMS, but since I can't get past 27 volts, that wasn't going to happen.

I feel like the batteries are somehow the limiting factor in the charging process, but I'm not sure how to correct it. I can get into the BMS and things seem to be normal there(no errors are being flagged).