diy solar

diy solar

charge rate for 24 volt 200 Ah LifePo

Skip

Prairie Hermit
I'm new to LifePo. Looking to replace AGM batteries. I've discovered that my solar array and generator are both undersized for full charging of my AGM batteries. The panels are barely minimum for the BEST conditions. The generator only puts out 20 amps and I need 30.
I'm doing a cost benefit analysis.
Will my generator delivering 4275 watts and 19 amps (running) and my panels delivering 2500 watts max at 50 amps be adequate to fully charge two 24 volt 100Ah Life Po batteries.
I'm trying to understand the full charging requirements of LifePo (vs AGM). Much less expensive to buy new batteries than new generator and more panels.
Thanks

I'm new to LifePo. Looking to replace AGM batteries. I've discovered that my solar array and generator are both undersized for full charging of my AGM batteries. The panels are barely minimum for the BEST conditions. The generator only puts out 20 amps and I need 30.
I'm doing a cost benefit analysis.
Will my generator delivering 4275 watts and 19 amps (running) and my panels delivering 2500 watts max at 50 amps be adequate to fully charge two 24 volt 100Ah Life Po batteries.
I'm trying to understand the full charging requirements of LifePo (vs AGM). Much less expensive to buy new batteries than new generator and more panels.
Thanks
By the way. I know the voltage requirements, what I need to understand is the amperage requirements.
Thanks

I use my Generator to charge my battery bank through my Samlex EVO 4024 Inverter/Charger.
I have the Charger set to deliver 80A @ 24V, the INPUT from Generator is 120V/23A / 2700-2800W output.
I use the L5:30A plug on the generator for this purpose.
The generator is a Champion Model #201079 (CDN Model) and it has been great.
By charging @ 80A, I still get enough from the genset to also run the house concurrently (lighter load) via the passthrough capability of the Samlex.