diy solar

diy solar

Charging amp question

OffGridCostaRica

Newbie here and I searched this question and can’t seem to find an answer. Sorry if it’s been posted or is simple knowledge.

I have 16, 12v 200ah gel batteries wired in 4 quadrants to essentially give me 4x 48v 200ah batteries. Or 800ah of 48v batteries.

In the battery manual it states max charge amperage is 50amps… but that’s for the single 12v 200ah battery. My question is if that changes being in series to make 48V and 800ah total, or if my battery banks max charge amperage is 50amps because that’s all a single battery is recommended to handle.

Thanks!

Attachments

• 512E5F42-0E24-4DD0-9B08-864EEB1934DA.jpeg
    512E5F42-0E24-4DD0-9B08-864EEB1934DA.jpeg
    188.2 KB · Views: 5
50A per 12V, 24V or 48V string, so you have a theoretical maximum of 200A into the 4 strings.

This assumes the batteries are perfectly sharing the load, and your wiring is top notch.

I would limit it to about 160A until you can verify that each string of batteries receives no more than 50A measured with a clamp DC ammeter.

Newbie here and I searched this question and can’t seem to find an answer. Sorry if it’s been posted or is simple knowledge.

I have 16, 12v 200ah gel batteries wired in 4 quadrants to essentially give me 4x 48v 200ah batteries. Or 800ah of 48v batteries.

In the battery manual it states max charge amperage is 50amps… but that’s for the single 12v 200ah battery. My question is if that changes being in series to make 48V and 800ah total, or if my battery banks max charge amperage is 50amps because that’s all a single battery is recommended to handle.

Thanks!
The 50 Amp limit would be the most you’d want to push through a single battery. Since a series string all gets the same current, a single one of your 48V strings should have a maximum of 50 Amps charging.