diy solar

diy solar

Complete beginner has questions

solarlover2023

Hello all, I had purchased a 100w solar panel from harbor freight for experimentation. I’m a complete beginner and have a couple of questions.

First, I will be charging a ecoflow River solar generator. I had bought a charge controller, but heard that I will not need it when charging a solar generator, is this correct?

Second, my solar panel has sae cable, which isn’t too common I heard. I have bought a sae to mc4 adapter cable, which I will connect to the sae cable coming from the solar panel (with sae adapter for polarity situation). I will then connect that adapter cable to a mc4 to xt60 adapter cable, which will be plugged in to the solar generator. I want to make sure that my plan will work. Let me know if I can answer any questions. Thank you!

but heard that I will not need it when charging a solar generator, is this correct?
Yes
Second, my solar panel has sae cable, which isn’t too common I heard. I have bought a sae to mc4 adapter cable, which I will connect to the sae cable coming from the solar panel (with sae adapter for polarity situation). I will then connect that adapter cable to a mc4 to xt60 adapter cable, which will be plugged in to the solar generator. I want to make sure that my plan will work.
Should be fine. I would check the polarity before connecting to the river. Just to verify the adapter is correct.

If your Ecoflow has a PV input (rather than direct battery connection for charging), then you wouldn't need a charge controller.

Connectors should work. Double-check polarity with meter.

$125 for 100W. What is your deadline for returning?
Shop around and see if you want to go a different route. 100W panels are good size to pack, and can be shipped. Commercial/residential panels these days are 300 to 600W and 1.5 to 3.0 square meters. Voltage may be too high for Ecoflow input.