diy solar

diy solar

Didn't top-balance...will try anything before disassembling.

Jesshaines

Ok, so I'm a relative newb. Living totally off-grid in the desert, full time student with 2 cats (who need to stay cool in the summer). Basically, I have a lot on my plate. When I built my system (16S 280AH) almost a year ago, I didn't top balance based on recommendation of a friend with experience. He said with quality cells, its not necessary....

Well, here I am with one cell consistently running (it usually reaches 3.4 when the rest of the pack is 3.375-3.38). Sooooooo....I'm willing to try anything before I go to the step of disassembling the battery, packing it up to a friend's house an hour away with grid power, doing my best to baby sit the process but I won't be able to be there all the time, trying to manage having only limited power at my house (I have a friend who could share solar power with me, but a much smaller system). you get the picture - not enticing, but I'll do it if necessary.

Things to try before I go there (and looking/hoping for comments feedback suggestions)

I just installed Victron 150V60A SCC. I've only had 2 days to mess with it. So far loving the control. The first day, I set Absorption too high (only 55.0V but my runner started running). Today, I was experimenting with much lower Absorption settings, like 54.2V and then slowing stepping up to 54.6V

It seemed to allow the cells to come closer together - delta went from 0.025V to 0.007-9.

But, at the step from 54.4 to 54.5, the pack seemed to stop coming up to meet the SCC. Or - I could be totally misunderstanding what I was observing. Ran out of sunlight, and I know that at these low voltages, delta isn't all that meaningful. Still - 0.007 is lower than 25....?

1) is this a horrible strategy? Should I continue with this in coming days and see what happens? I know (or think I know) the big difference here is the cells are in series not parallel like in true top balancing.