diy solar

diy solar

ebike charging system for camper

tazzmacd

Total beginner here at Solar, I have nothing purchased at this time but I know what I want out of the system and what my current and future load could be.
Idea is to have batteries in the bed of my truck that will be weather proof, have the ability to plug either a solar panel into charge them or a portable generator if needed, depending on the camp site and if there is sun or a cloudy day.

The planned load on the system will be as such:
- I have an eBike battery that is the following: 36V, 700Wh, 19Ah Lithium Ion.
- Roughly 4-6 LED lights mounted on the Bed Rack being built for lights at night for cooking and such. Will only run for short periods of time. LED lights I can go either with the inverted of directly to a battery wired through a switch so
- Future use, 12V fridge, approx 48watt usage for a 24 hour period, at least that is the estimate that I have from the web site on the model I am looking at.
- charging camera batteries occasionally if needed on longer trips.
- small electronics like iPhones or Garmin bike computers

Requirement that I know I need:
- I will need to have an inverted for the battery charger and the camera batter chargers.

Planned usage for the system: 2-4 day trips biking and landscape or wildlife photography. Bike trips will be the biggest demand as I will usually need to recharge the battery after a full day of riding. At home, this usually takes 2-3 hours to fully charge from an almost dead battery.

Knowns:
- Plan is to have the system charged before I leave by having the batteries plugged into the power at the house for a trickle charge. When I am at the camp site or trail head, use a combination of solar or generator to charge the batteries back up again so that they will be able to charge my bike battery a number of times during the planned trip. So assume that I will be on a 3 day trip, I will need to fully charge the bike at least twice during this time.